Meyers House & Garden
Welcome to Alameda's first and only house museum! Step into the past and explore this unique treasure.
Read about the Meyers Studio and the Architectural Exhibit. You can join the Meyers House Guild and help support this local treasure.
2021 Alameda Avenue, Alameda, California 94501
City of Alameda Historical Monument Number 26.
Reservations for small receptions, weddings, and art events can be made by calling 510-521-1233 and leaving a message for Robbie. The Meyers property is currently undergoing repairs and will be painted in the spring/summer of 2013. It is hoped that reservations for events will begin in August. Rental information will be posted at http://meyershouse.org when we are ready. Grounds rental does not include seeing the Meyers House Museum exhibits.
The house is presently open the fourth Saturday of the month, from 1 pm to 4 pm. Admission is $5 per person.
Call 510-521-1247 to make a reservation. Please check the events calendar to make sure we're not closed due to a special event. If you have a group of 25 or more, we may be able to open the Meyers House to accommodate you on another day. Contact President Robbie Dileo 510-865-1767 for details.
Volunteer opportunities are available. Docents receive training for showing house exhibits. Landscape/Grounds volunteers are needed and staff for event set-up. For information please contact Museum President Robbie Dileo at 510-865-1767.
The Meyers House, erected in 1897, is an example of Colonial Revival, an architectural style popular around the turn of the century. Designed by Henry H. Meyers,the house was built by his father, Jacob Meyers, at a cost of $4000.
Mr. Meyers was a prominent East Bay architect who received many Alameda County commissions. His work includes the portal entrance of the Posey Tube in Alameda, ten veterans buildings throughout Alameda County, and numerous public buildings and churches.
In 1894 he married Bertha May, whose father was a prominent rancher in Alvarado, California. The couple had three daughters. Edith (1900-1971) was a physician, Mildred (1898-1982) practiced as an architect, and Jeanette (1905-93) ran their Dry Creek Ranch near Union City. Mr Meyers died in 1943, followed by his wife in 1947.
The home is situated on a three-parcel lot, that includes the original fencing and pergola, three-car garage, carriage house, green house, and an architectural studio built in 1935. The Meyers House has received numerous additions, designed by Mildred Meyers, a practicing architect.
The living room is furnished with many objects that originally belonged to the Meyers family including the Steinway & Sons piano, oriental carpet, four reception chairs and kidney shaped couch. What is now the living room was originally two separate rooms, a parlor, and a sitting room.
The wall separating the two rooms was removed in 1915 when the curly redwood fireplace, wainscoting, and triple cornice were added. The hardwood floors with feature strips were also laid during this period.
An oak table, four chairs, lamp table, and tea cart were part of the Meyers family furnishings. The molding, wainscot, and built-in side board in quarter-sawn oak are also original.
The stained glass window depicting a Monterey, California scene was added in 1909.
The kitchen contains a 1930s Wedgewood stove, a dropleaf table, four chairs and a high chair that originally belonged to the Meyers’ family.
The three piece Victorian bedroom set, plus additional pictures and bric-a-brac, are original to the Meyers house.
Most of the furnishings and objects found in the home have been graciously donated by the public or are from the Alameda Museum Collection. Some rooms, including the dining room and master bedroom have been painted to replicate the original colors.
The three Meyers sisters bequeathed the house and grounds to the City of Alameda for use as a house museum and a passive park.